Policy · Licensure, credentials and representation
Certification: Initial, Continuing and Maintenance
Approved for publication by Kanwar Partap Singh Gill, MD on . Lifecycle state: CURRENT. Written from primary statutory and regulatory text and the controlling authority cited throughout.
California requires continuing medical education as a condition of licensure. It does not require board certification for anything. What it regulates — closely, and with a criminal penalty — is what a physician may say about being certified. Almost everything confusing about this subject dissolves once those three facts are held apart.
- Licensure runs on CME, not certification. Section 2190 requires the Board to adopt and administer continuing education standards and to require each licensee to demonstrate satisfaction at intervals of not less than four nor more than six years.
- Board certification is private. No California statute conditions a physician and surgeon’s certificate on holding, maintaining or renewing a specialty board certification.
- Describing certification is where the law bites. Section 651(h)(5)(C) permits a claim of certification only where the certifying board falls into one of three defined categories, and section 651(f) makes a violation a misdemeanour.
- The full board name must appear. Even a physician certified by a qualifying board may not use “board certified” unless the full name of the certifying board is also used and given comparable prominence.
- The fine is separate from the crime. Section 651(k) supports an administrative fine of up to $10,000 per event for a knowing and intentional violation, imposed under section 125.9.
- The 1 January 2019 date is structural. Approval by the Medical Board of an equivalent-requirements board had to occur before that date; the route is closed prospectively.
Three systems that are constantly confused
A physician in California is subject to three separate regimes that all use the vocabulary of competence, and they answer to different masters.
The first is licensure, administered by the Medical Board under the Medical Practice Act. It is the only one of the three that determines whether a person may lawfully practise. Its continuing-competence mechanism is continuing medical education.
The second is certification, conferred by private specialty boards. It determines nothing about the right to practise. Its consequences are contractual and commercial — hospital privileges, payer panels, employment terms — and they arise because private parties choose to condition their own decisions on it, not because the state requires it.
The third is representation — what a physician tells the public. This is the regime with the sharpest teeth, and the one most often overlooked, because it does not regulate whether you are certified but what you may say about it.
Conflating the first two produces the belief that losing certification threatens a licence, which it does not on its own. Ignoring the third produces criminal exposure from a website footer.
What the state actually requires: section 2190
Section 2190 provides that in order to ensure the continuing competence of licensed physicians and surgeons, the board shall adopt and administer standards for the continuing education of those licensees. It further provides that the board shall require each licensed physician and surgeon to demonstrate satisfaction of the continuing education requirements at intervals of not less than four nor more than six years.
Two features are worth reading carefully. The statute delegates the content of the standards to the Board rather than fixing hours in the code, so the operative requirement in any given year is regulatory rather than statutory. And the compliance interval is expressed as a range — not less than four nor more than six years — which is a legislative instruction to the Board about cycle length rather than a period a physician can compute for themselves from the statute.
Section 2190 also permits the Board to set content standards for educational activity concerning a chronic disease, including information on prevention and on treatment through changes in nutrition and lifestyle behaviour.
What counts as continuing education
Section 2190.1(a) provides that the section 2190 standards may be met by educational activities meeting the Board’s standards that serve to maintain, develop, or increase the knowledge, skills, and professional performance a physician and surgeon uses to provide care, or to improve the quality of care provided to patients. It gives a non-exhaustive list, including activities that have scientific or clinical content with a direct bearing on the quality or cost-effective provision of patient care, community or public health, or preventive medicine; and activities concerning quality assurance or improvement, risk management, health facility standards, or the legal aspects of clinical medicine.
The second category is broader than physicians often assume. Risk management, quality improvement work and the legal aspects of clinical medicine are named in the statute as capable of satisfying the requirement — the definition is not confined to clinical subject matter.
Section 2190.1 also carries content mandates layered over time. Continuing medical education courses are required to contain curriculum including cultural and linguistic competency in the practice of medicine, and, on and after 1 January 2022, curriculum including the understanding of implicit bias — with an exception for a course dedicated solely to research or other issues that does not include a direct patient care component. Accrediting associations were directed to develop standards for compliance, updated in conjunction with an advisory group with relevant expertise.
Two subject-specific requirements sit alongside the general ones. Section 2190.3 requires general internists and family physicians whose patient population is more than 25 per cent aged 65 or older to complete at least 20 per cent of all mandatory continuing education hours in geriatric medicine or the care of older patients. Section 2190.5 imposes a one-time requirement of 12 credit hours in pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients, within the required minimum established by regulation.
What section 2190 does not say
It does not mention board certification. It does not mention maintenance of certification, continuing certification, or any private assessment programme. It does not make participation in one a substitute for continuing education, and it does not make continuing education a substitute for one. The two systems are not in a hierarchy; they are in different columns.
Why the interval is a range, and what that means in practice
The four-to-six-year window in section 2190 is a delegation, not a deadline a physician can compute. It tells the Board the outer bounds within which it must set a demonstration cycle; it does not tell a licensee when their own cycle falls. The operative date comes from the Board’s regulations and from the licensee’s own renewal position, and a physician who reads the statute alone will not find it.
That structure also explains why the requirement is comparatively hard to fail by accident and comparatively easy to fail by inattention. A cycle measured in years rather than months produces long stretches in which nothing is due, followed by a demonstration obligation that arrives with the renewal rather than on its own schedule.
Certification, and what it is not
Specialty certification in the United States is conferred by private organisations. A certificate is a private credential, and the obligations attached to maintaining it — periodic examination, longitudinal assessment, activity requirements, fees — are the terms of the issuing organisation’s own programme rather than duties imposed by California law.
That has a direct consequence for a physician weighing whether to maintain certification. Lapsing does not affect the licence. What it affects is every private arrangement that has been written to depend on it: medical staff bylaws, payer participation criteria, employment and recruitment terms. Those consequences can be severe, and they are consequences of contract rather than of regulation. The distinction matters because contractual criteria are negotiable and amendable, and licensure requirements are not.
It also explains why the debate about continuing certification is conducted in the language of hospital bylaws and insurer credentialing policies rather than in the language of the Medical Practice Act. The state has not entered the field of whether certification should be maintained. It has entered the field of what a physician may claim.
Where the private consequences actually come from
If the state does not require certification, the pressure to hold it has to come from somewhere, and it comes from three private sources that operate independently of each other.
Medical staff bylaws. A hospital may set membership and privilege criteria, and where those criteria include current certification the consequence of lapsing is loss of privileges rather than loss of licence. Because bylaws are amendable, this is the layer where the question is most often actually contested.
Payer credentialing. Health plans and networks set their own participation criteria. A physician removed from a panel for lapsed certification has lost access to patients, which for most practices is indistinguishable in effect from a regulatory sanction and is legally nothing of the kind.
Employment and recruitment terms. Certification requirements written into an employment agreement convert a private credential into a contractual condition, sometimes with a defined period in which to obtain or restore it.
None of these is licensure, and the distinction is not academic. A licence is removed only through a process the Medical Practice Act defines, with the procedural protections that attach to it. A panel removal or a bylaw denial follows whatever process the private instrument provides. The rules governing how far a state may restrict these private requirements are treated on state laws restricting maintenance of certification.
Section 651(h)(5)(C): the rule on saying “board certified”
This is the operative California law for physicians on certification, and it is precise. A physician and surgeon licensed under Chapter 5 by the Medical Board of California may state that they limit their practice to specific fields, but shall not state or imply that they are certified or eligible for certification by a private or public board or parent association, including a multidisciplinary board or association, unless the board or association meets one of three tests.
- It is an American Board of Medical Specialties member board.
- It is a board or association with equivalent requirements approved by that physician and surgeon’s licensing board prior to 1 January 2019.
- It is a board or association with an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education approved postgraduate training programme that provides complete training in that specialty or subspecialty.
The statute then adds two further rules that operate on top of the three tests.
A physician certified by an organisation other than one meeting those tests shall not use the term “board certified” in reference to that certification — subject to a narrow allowance for a physician also licensed under Chapter 4 using the term in accordance with the dental provision.
And a physician certified by an organisation that does meet one of the tests shall not use the term “board certified” unless the full name of the certifying board is also used and given comparable prominence with the term. Bare “board certified” is not compliant even for a physician who is unambiguously entitled to the underlying credential.
For these purposes a “multidisciplinary board or association” means an educational certifying body that has a psychometrically valid testing process, as determined by the Medical Board of California, for certifying medical doctors and other health care professionals who work as a team.
Reading the second test carefully
The equivalent-requirements route is the one most likely to be misdescribed, because it is closed prospectively. Approval by the licensing board had to have occurred prior to 1 January 2019. An organisation that obtained approval before that date retains it — the statute expressly provides that a board or association approved before that date remains approved. An organisation that did not cannot now enter through this route, however rigorous its requirements are.
The practical consequence is that the three tests are not three equally available pathways. Two are live and one is a closed historical category. A physician evaluating a certifying organisation should ask which test it satisfies, and if the answer is the second, when the approval was granted.
Alternative certifying organisations
Organisations offering alternatives to the established specialty boards — recertification bodies that credit continuing medical education and licensure in place of periodic examination, for instance — have to be assessed against exactly the same three tests, and the assessment is about the organisation’s status rather than the merits of its model.
This page does not state whether any particular alternative organisation satisfies test one, two or three. That is a question of fact about a named body: whether it is an ABMS member board, whether it received Medical Board approval before 1 January 2019, or whether it has an ACGME-approved postgraduate training programme providing complete training in the specialty. None of those facts was verified here for any organisation, and a physician relying on an alternative credential in public-facing material needs the answer for that organisation specifically before using the words.
What can be said from the text is that the merits of a certification model are irrelevant to section 651. A programme could be more demanding than an ABMS member board’s and still fail all three tests, because the tests are about institutional status, not rigour.
“Limits practice to specific fields” is the permitted alternative
The same sentence that prohibits an unqualified certification claim expressly permits something else: a physician and surgeon may state that they limit their practice to specific fields. That permission is the practical answer for a physician whose credential does not satisfy any of the three tests, and it is frequently overlooked because it appears as a clause in a prohibition rather than as a safe harbour of its own.
The distinction the statute is drawing is between describing what you do and asserting that an institution has certified you. A statement of practice limitation makes a claim about scope. A certification claim makes a claim about an external body’s judgment of competence, and it is the second that section 651 regulates. A physician can accurately describe a subspecialty practice, the training completed and the procedures performed without asserting certification at all.
Enforcement, which is not merely disciplinary
Section 651(f) provides that a violation of the section is a misdemeanour. It also provides that a bona fide mistake of fact is a defence to that subdivision, but to no other. That is an unusually explicit allocation: the criminal limb admits the defence, and the disciplinary and civil limbs do not.
Section 651(g) makes a violation good cause for the revocation or suspension of a licence, certificate or registration issued under the division.
Section 651(k) provides that a knowing and intentional violation, or a violation committed in the exercise of gross negligence or recklessness, constitutes cause for an administrative fine, and permits the licensing board to assess a fine not to exceed $10,000 per event under the procedure in section 125.9. Where the amount of the fine is contested, the licensee may request a hearing.
Three separate consequences therefore attach to the same words on the same page: a criminal charge to which mistake of fact is a defence, a disciplinary ground to which it is not, and an administrative fine to which it is not.
The three tests are about status, not rigour
It is worth drawing out what the drafting of section 651(h)(5)(C) implies, because the point is easy to miss and it decides most real questions.
Test one is membership of a named private federation. Test two is a historical administrative act by the licensing board, completed before a fixed date. Test three is the existence of an ACGME-approved postgraduate training programme providing complete training in the specialty or subspecialty. None of the three asks how demanding the certification is, how it is assessed, how often it is renewed, or whether it measures anything a patient would recognise as competence.
That is a deliberate legislative choice and it has two consequences that pull in opposite directions. It gives a bright line: a physician can determine compliance by identifying the organisation and checking its status, rather than by forming a judgment about quality. And it produces outcomes that look arbitrary from inside the profession, because an organisation with a rigorous assessment programme that satisfies none of the three tests is in exactly the same position under section 651 as one with no assessment at all.
The reason the Legislature drew it this way is visible in the enforcement provisions. Section 651 is an advertising statute enforced by criminal charge, licence discipline and administrative fine. A test that turned on the substantive rigour of a certification programme would require the Board and a court to adjudicate the merits of competing assessment models in every case. A status test can be applied on the documents.
For the continuing-certification debate, the practical upshot is that arguments about whether a given model measures competence better than another — however well founded — do not bear on section 651 compliance at all. They bear on whether a hospital or payer should accept the credential, which is a private question, and on whether the Legislature should change the tests, which is a legislative one.
Initial certification, and the point at which the tests bite
The three tests in section 651(h)(5)(C) are usually discussed in the context of maintaining a credential, but they operate identically at the point of first obtaining one, and the timing question they raise for a physician emerging from training is distinct.
A physician who has completed an ACGME-approved residency in a specialty and has not yet sat or passed the certifying examination occupies a particular position under the statute. They may state that they limit their practice to that field. They may not state or imply that they are certified. And critically, they may not state or imply that they are eligible for certification unless the organisation in question satisfies one of the three tests — because the prohibition covers eligibility claims on exactly the same terms as certification claims.
That last point is the one most likely to be missed in recruitment material and practice announcements, where “board eligible” has long circulated as an informal shorthand for having finished training. The statute does not treat it as informal. It sits inside the same prohibition, attracts the same misdemeanour liability under section 651(f), and is subject to the same administrative fine under section 651(k).
The third test is worth noting again here, because it is the one that most often does the work at this stage. Where a board or association has an ACGME-approved postgraduate training programme providing complete training in the specialty or subspecialty, it satisfies the statute independently of ABMS membership and independently of any historical Medical Board approval. A physician assessing a certification route immediately after training should establish which test their intended certifying body satisfies before any announcement is drafted, not after.
Reading your own public material against section 651
These questions are answered by looking at what is published rather than at what is held.
Which organisation is being claimed? The tests are organisation-specific. Identify the exact certifying body, then determine which of the three tests it satisfies.
Is the full board name present, with comparable prominence? A qualifying certification described as “board certified” without the full name of the certifying board does not comply, and prominence is a design question as much as a drafting one.
Is “eligible for certification” being implied? The prohibition covers stating or implying certification or eligibility for certification. Language about having completed training in a specialty can imply eligibility without asserting it.
Who controls the page? Where a practice’s website, directory listings or advertising are managed by someone else, the words are still the licensee’s exposure. Control of advertising content is separately an indicator of unlawful corporate practice, as discussed on the corporate practice of medicine.
Has anything lapsed? A representation that was accurate when written becomes a misrepresentation when the underlying certification lapses, and nothing in the statute makes the original accuracy a defence to the current claim.
The three regimes, side by side
Swipe the table sideways for the remaining columns
| Who sets it | Consequence of failing | |
|---|---|---|
| Continuing medical education | Medical Board of California, by regulation under Bus. & Prof. Code § 2190 | Licensure consequence. This is the only one of the three that bears on the right to practise. |
| Board certification and its maintenance | Private certifying organisations, on their own programme terms | Contractual and commercial only — privileges, payer panels, employment terms. No licensure effect. |
| Representation to the public | The Legislature, by Bus. & Prof. Code § 651 | Misdemeanour under § 651(f); cause for revocation or suspension under § 651(g); administrative fine up to $10,000 per event under § 651(k). |
Read across the rows, the asymmetry is stark. The system with no state involvement at all — certification — carries the heaviest practical consequences for a working physician. The system the state does regulate criminally is not certification but the sentence describing it.
Why the two content mandates in section 2190.1 are unusual
Most continuing education regimes specify how much education a licensee must obtain and leave the subject matter to the licensee and the accrediting bodies. California does something different in section 2190.1(b): it legislates curriculum content into every course rather than requiring a separate course on the subject.
The cultural and linguistic competency mandate and the implicit bias mandate operative on and after 1 January 2022 both attach to all continuing medical education courses, not to a designated block of hours. A course on interventional technique is within the mandate in the same way a course on communication is. The obligation therefore falls in the first instance on course providers and accrediting associations rather than on the individual physician, which is why section 2190.1 directs accrediting associations to develop compliance standards and to update them with an advisory group possessing relevant expertise.
The single exception preserves coherence: a course dedicated solely to research or other issues that does not include a direct patient care component is outside the requirement. That carve-out identifies what the mandate is aimed at — education about treating people — and marks the boundary where embedding the curriculum would be artificial.
The contrast with sections 2190.3 and 2190.5 is instructive. Those provisions take the conventional form: a defined quantity of hours in a defined subject, triggered by a defined condition. Section 2190.3 conditions its geriatrics requirement on a practice fact — a patient population more than 25 per cent aged 65 or older — and expresses the obligation as a proportion of mandatory hours rather than an absolute number, so it scales with whatever the Board’s hour requirement happens to be. Section 2190.5 imposes a fixed one-time block of 12 credit hours, taken within the required minimum rather than in addition to it.
Three drafting patterns, then, in one article: embedded curriculum applying to everything, a proportional requirement triggered by practice composition, and a one-time fixed block. A physician calculating what they owe cannot apply a single mental model to all of them.
What this page does not decide
First, it states California law for physicians and surgeons licensed under Chapter 5. Section 651 applies across the healing arts and contains parallel provisions for other professions, including a distinct dental rule, which are not stated here.
Second, the operative continuing education hour requirement is set by the Board in regulation under section 2190, not by the statute. This page does not state the current hour requirement, the accepted accreditation pathways, or the audit process; those are regulatory and administrative matters that were not verified here.
Third, whether any named certifying organisation satisfies one of the three tests in section 651(h)(5)(C) is a question of fact about that organisation. No organisation’s status was verified for this page.
Fourth, private consequences of certification — medical staff bylaws, payer credentialing, employment terms — are contractual and vary by institution. The rules restricting how those private requirements may be imposed are treated on state laws restricting maintenance of certification.
Fifth, no judicial construction of section 651 or section 2190 is cited, because none was verified in writing this page.
Sources
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 651(h)(5)(C), (f), (g), (k) — current text: the three tests for a certifying board; the prohibition on “board certified” for non-qualifying organisations; the full-name-with-comparable-prominence rule; the definition of a multidisciplinary board or association; misdemeanour liability and the bona fide mistake of fact defence; licence revocation or suspension; administrative fine up to $10,000 per event.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2190 — statutory text; Board adopts and administers continuing education standards; compliance demonstrated at intervals of not less than four nor more than six years; chronic disease content standards.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2190.1 — what may satisfy the standards; cultural and linguistic competency curriculum; implicit bias curriculum on and after 1 January 2022 with the research-only exception.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2190.3 — geriatric medicine requirement for general internists and family physicians with a patient population more than 25 per cent aged 65 or older.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 2190.5 — one-time 12 credit hour requirement in pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients. Identified from the article text; not read at source for this page.
- Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 125.9 — administrative fine procedure referenced by § 651(k). Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code Chapter 4 (commencing with § 1600) — dentistry, cross-referenced inside § 651(h)(5)(C). Not read at source for this page.