Statute · regulation · guidance · proposed rule · litigation — each labelled, each dated

U.S. immigration for international physicians

Immigration is where most IMG plans actually fail, and it fails late — after the exams, the applications and often after a successful Match. It is also the area where published guidance ages fastest: one rule takes effect in two weeks, one fee is blocked by a court, and another is out for comment.

Policy watch — what changed and what is only proposed

NOT CURRENTLY ENFORCEABLEPROCLAMATION · LITIGATION · checked 2026-09-01$100,000 proclamation feeA 2025 proclamation imposed a $100,000 payment on certain new H-1B petitions for individuals outside the United States. A U.S. district court vacated the policy on 8 June 2026; the government appealed; the First Circuit declined the government’s stay request on 24 July 2026. On that record the requirement is not currently enforceable. Litigation continues.
PROPOSED — NOT IN FORCEPROPOSED RULE · checked 2026-09-01$103,265 cap-subject feeDHS published a 2026 proposal for a $103,265 fee on H-1B cap-subject petitions, including advanced-degree-exemption petitions. Comments close 24 September 2026. If finalised as proposed, it would by its terms reach cap-subject petitions — which is precisely why cap-exempt status matters strategically.
FINAL RULE — EFFECTIVE 15 SEPTEMBER 2026FINAL RULE · checked 2026-09-01DHS fixed-period admission for F, J and IEliminates duration-of-status admission. Intealth states DHS did not exempt J-1 physicians. The I-94 becomes the controlling document; Intealth is moving toward multi-year DS-2019s; the seven-year physician training limit is unchanged.
CONTINUING STATUTORY AND REGULATORY BASISSTATUTE AND REGULATION · checked 2026-09-01H-1B cap exemptionUnaffected by the fee developments. The exemption categories continue to apply on their own terms.

The distinction that matters most: cap exemption is not fee exemption. Being outside the numerical cap, being outside a proposed cap-subject fee, ordinary USCIS fees, and a separate presently-vacated proclamation fee are four different things, and conflating them produces confident advice that is simply wrong.

J-1: the default route, and the 15 September change

ECFMG/Intealth is the sole J-1 sponsor for foreign-national physicians in U.S. clinical graduate medical education. Baseline requirements: Step 1, Step 2 CK, ECFMG Certification, a residency or fellowship contract or official offer, and a Statement of Need from the appropriate Ministry of Health. The host institution initiates sponsorship through its Training Program Liaison. Sponsorship is tied to the training programme, the institution, the approved activity and the compensation; moonlighting outside the approved activity is prohibited. General clinical-training sponsorship is limited to the time normally required to complete training and generally to seven years overall.

Effective 15 September 2026 · final rule

DHS has eliminated duration-of-status admission for F, J and I nonimmigrants. Intealth states expressly that DHS did not exempt J-1 physicians.

  • Admission becomes fixed-date rather than open-ended, and the I-94 becomes the controlling document — not the DS-2019.
  • Maximum initial admission generally follows programme length or four years, whichever is shorter.
  • Training longer than the admission period may require an Extension of Stay with USCIS or another lawful admission mechanism.
  • A DS-2019 alone no longer automatically extends authorised stay.
  • Travel and re-entry become more consequential; Intealth is moving toward multi-year DS-2019s.
  • The seven-year overall limit on the physician training category is unchanged.

What a current J-1 resident can sensibly do: read the DS-2019 and the I-94 after any travel, know the programme end date, and coordinate with Intealth before international travel during the transition. This site does not give individualised travel advice — Intealth does, and it is the sponsor.

§212(e), and the waiver route that is generally closed to physicians

A foreign physician who obtains J-1 status for graduate medical education is subject to the INA §212(e) two-year home-country physical-presence requirement. The critical point, which is widely misunderstood: graduate medical education is an independent trigger. A physician whose country is not on the Skills List can still be subject to §212(e) because of the GME itself.

And the ordinary No Objection Statement waiver is generally unavailable to physicians who acquired J-1 status for U.S. graduate medical education. This surprises people late, after they have built a plan around it. The physician-specific routes are: Conrad State 30, Interested U.S. government agency, Persecution, Exceptional hardship where applicable.

Conrad State 30 — the elements
  • Sponsorship by a designated state public-health department
  • Generally full-time physician employment
  • Service in or for an underserved area
  • A three-year service commitment
  • Employment generally beginning within 90 days after the waiver
  • Up to 30 waiver requests per state annually
  • Up to 10 flex slots under the current federal framework where applicable

State programmes differ substantially in windows, specialty priorities, employer requirements and documentation. A 50-state tracker is the correct form for this and is not yet built; nothing here should be read as any particular state’s rule.

H-1B: employer-sponsored, and Step 3 usually matters

H-1B is sponsored by the employer, not by ECFMG. For clinical physicians, federal requirements add physician-specific elements to the ordinary H-1B requirements. For most foreign medical graduates who will provide patient care, Step 3 or the legally accepted examination equivalent becomes critical, together with the required state authorisation or licensure.

What this does not mean: pass Step 3 and get an H-1B. The employer must be willing to sponsor, and many residency programmes sponsor J-1 only. Programme willingness is a separate question from statutory eligibility, and it is the question to verify first.

Cap exemption: a legal test, not an industry

A hospital is not cap-exempt because it is a hospital. Exemption follows the employer’s legal character and the work arrangement, not the industry.

The statutory and regulatory categories. Whether a particular teaching hospital or residency employer qualifies depends on its actual legal and organisational relationship and on the work arrangement.
CategoryBasisNote
Institution of higher educationStatuteThe clearest category.
Nonprofit entity related to or affiliated with an institution of higher educationStatute and regulationThis is where most teaching hospitals are argued to fall, and where the analysis is genuinely fact-dependent.
Nonprofit research organisationStatuteOrganisational purpose controls.
Governmental research organisationStatute
Qualifying employment performed AT a qualifying organisationRegulationCurrent USCIS rules recognise certain work performed at a qualifying organisation where the regulatory nexus requirements are met, even where the petitioner is not itself exempt.

Program records carry H1BCapExemptEvidence with values VERIFIED / LIKELY / NOT PUBLICLY STATED — never a guess, and never inferred from the employer being a hospital.

Why this is now strategically significant. The proposed $103,265 fee applies by its terms to cap-subject petitions. If it is finalised as proposed, the gap between a cap-subject and a cap-exempt sponsor becomes a six-figure difference — which is exactly why the temptation to assert exemption without evidence will grow, and why the honest answer for most programmes is not publicly stated rather than yes or no.

J-1 and H-1B, side by side

Generated from data/img-visa.json. Neither category is “better” — they carry different consequences, and which consequences matter depends on the applicant’s circumstances.
IssueJ-1 physicianH-1B physician
SponsorECFMG / Intealth — the sole J-1 sponsor for foreign-national physicians in U.S. clinical graduate medical educationThe employer. Availability is institution- and often programme-specific.
Step 3Generally not required for J-1 sponsorshipTypically critical. For most foreign medical graduates providing patient care, Step 3 or the legally accepted equivalent, plus required state authorisation, is part of the physician-specific requirements.
INA §212(e) two-year home-country requirementYes. Graduate medical education is an independent trigger, regardless of the Skills List.No
Dual intentLimitedYes
Numerical capNo H-1B cap appliesCap-subject unless the employer and the work arrangement qualify for statutory exemption
Availability in GMEBroadly used across residency programmesProgramme-specific; many programmes sponsor J-1 only
MoonlightingProhibited outside the approved activityDepends on separate authorisation and employer
DurationTime normally required to complete training; generally seven years overall for the physician categoryH-1B statutory rules
Admission period (from 15 September 2026)Fixed-date admission. I-94 controls; generally program length or four years, whichever is shorter; longer training may need an Extension of Stay or another lawful admission mechanismPetition validity governs; unaffected by the F/J/I fixed-admission rule
After trainingHome return, or a physician-specific waiver — Conrad 30, interested government agency, persecution, or exceptional hardship where applicableEmployer-sponsored continuation and ordinary immigration pathways

The trade, stated without a recommendation. J-1 is substantially easier to obtain for residency because a single sponsor handles it and most programmes use it — and it carries §212(e), which shapes everything after training. H-1B avoids §212(e) and supports dual intent, and it typically requires Step 3, more institutional processing, and a programme willing to do it. Neither is the right answer in the abstract.

Verify this before you spend money on applications

Application fees scale steeply with programme count, and a programme whose visa policy excludes you was never a possibility. Seven questions, all answerable from a programme or institutional GME page before you apply:

  • Does this programme accept my visa category?
  • Is H-1B sponsorship actually available to residents, as distinct from to faculty?
  • Is Step 3 required before ranking, before contract, or before start?
  • Is the sponsoring employer cap-exempt — and on what evidence?
  • Is J-1 the only supported option?
  • Has the visa policy changed between cycles?
  • Is the policy institutional or programme-specific?

Where a programme has not published a policy, the correct record is not publicly stated — never an inferred no. A programme-level visa database recording each answer with its source date is the right instrument and is not yet built; the roadmap states that plainly.

Registry: data/img-visa.json · official sources: USCIS, Department of State, Federal Register, ECFMG/Intealth · immigration dates in this cycle