https://kpsgill.com/research/cfmg-wellpath-california/roadmaps/090-wellpath-chapter-11-cases/ · Roadmap 090

Roadmap 090Supporting roadmapProcedure, bankruptcy, oversight and public recordsDeadline-sensitive

The Wellpath Chapter 11 Cases: Debtors, Non-Debtors, the Confirmed Plan and What Claims Remain

Law current as of
Last reviewed
Published
Not recorded on this page
Last modified
Not recorded on this page

Do not calculate your filing deadline from this page. The periods described here are general rules and can change based on accrual, administrative prerequisites, tolling, amendments, party status, jurisdiction, and the particular claim. Consult a licensed attorney promptly if a deadline may apply.

Who this page is for

People harmed in jails or prisons served by Wellpath entities, their families, former workers, researchers, and counsel trying to understand how the Wellpath bankruptcy affects claims against Wellpath companies and against others.

What question this page answers

Which Wellpath companies were debtors, what the confirmed plan did to claims against them, how the liquidating trust and third-party releases work, and which claims against non-debtors — counties, professional corporations, clinicians — the public record shows may remain?

What this page does not establish

This page does not establish whether any person's claim survives, was released, or can be pursued, and it does not interpret any person's ballot, opt-out, or proof of claim.

OrientationWhat this page is, and when to act now

In plain words#

On November 11, 2024, Wellpath Holdings, Inc. and 38 affiliated companies filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas. Wellpath CFMG, Inc. was one of them. California Forensic Medical Group, Inc. — a different company with a similar name — does not appear on the official list of debtors.

The bankruptcy court confirmed a reorganization plan on May 1, 2025, and the plan took effect on May 9, 2025. In broad terms, and as courts applying it have described it:

  • Claims against the Wellpath debtors for events before the bankruptcy were discharged. People with those claims look to a liquidating trust, which pays from a limited pool through its own procedures.
  • The confirmed plan included a third-party release asserted to protect specified nondebtors, including categories of debtor employees, officers and lenders. Whether it binds a particular claimant requires checking that person’s notice, consent or opt-out record, the actual confirmed-plan definitions and subsequent orders; the recorded extended opt-out deadline for current or former incarcerated claimants was July 30, 2025. The Supreme Court prohibits nonconsensual Chapter 11 releases of independent claims against nondebtors but expressly left unresolved what qualifies as consent (Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., 603 U.S. 204 (2024)).
  • The plan's definition of who counts as a protected "related party" stated that the professional corporations affiliated with Wellpath, and their owners and employees, are not related parties. Those professional corporations were not debtors.
  • Counties and sheriffs were not debtors and do not appear on the plan's list of released parties as quoted in the court's notice.
  • Certain claims against Wellpath's former private-equity owner that depend on its relationship with the debtors were held to belong to the bankruptcy estate and to have been released, even for people who opted out.

The result is that the bankruptcy closes some doors, narrows others, and leaves some open. Which ones apply to a particular claim depends on which company or person is responsible, when the events happened, and what the claimant did in the bankruptcy case. This page lays out what the public court record shows so that those questions can be asked precisely.

Urgent

Stop and get a lawyer now if you or a family member was harmed in a facility served by a Wellpath company; you filed or did not file a proof of claim; you returned or did not return an opt-out form; you have a pending case in which a Wellpath company, its employees, a county, or a professional corporation is a defendant; or you have received anything from the Wellpath Liquidating Trust.

Deadline

Deadlines. The general proof-of-claim deadline (April 7, 2025), the governmental deadline (May 12, 2025), and the opt-out deadline for incarcerated claimants (July 30, 2025) have passed; they are described here as history. Claims against non-debtors — counties, clinicians, professional corporations — run on ordinary limitation periods that may still be running (Roadmap 008). The liquidating trust has its own procedures and time limits, which this page does not state. No date for any person is computed here.

Scope and warning#

This Roadmap is built only from the public bankruptcy docket, published court decisions, and federal statutes. It describes the debtor list, the professional-corporation arrangements disclosed at the start of the case, the bar dates, the plan's discharge, injunction, liquidating-trust and release provisions as quoted in court notices and described by courts, and later decisions applying the plan.

It does not reproduce the full confirmed plan or confirmation order, and where it relies on a notice describing the plan as proposed, it says so. It does not interpret any individual's ballot, opt-out, or proof of claim; it does not decide whether any claim is "direct" or "derivative"; and it does not advise anyone whether to pursue the liquidating trust, a non-debtor, or both. Those are questions for bankruptcy counsel working from the actual documents.

Roadmap 091 addresses the legal mechanics — the automatic stay, discharge, plan injunctions, third-party releases, and the estate-property test — in more depth.

The situations this roadmap addresses#

Hypothetical one. A person died in a California county jail in 2023. The county's medical contract was with a Wellpath company. The family did not file a proof of claim and did not return an opt-out form. They ask whom, if anyone, they can still sue.

Hypothetical two. A person was injured in the same jail in mid-2025, after the plan took effect, and wants to know whether the bankruptcy matters at all.

Hypothetical three. A physician who practiced in a jail through a physician-owned professional corporation is named in a lawsuit and wants to know whether the plan's release protects the physician.

Hypothetical four. A county is sued over a jail death and asks whether Wellpath's bankruptcy affects the county's own liability or its contractual indemnity rights.

On this page — 24 sections
  1. Orientation
    1. In plain words
    2. Scope and warning
    3. The situations this roadmap addresses
  2. Working analysis
    1. The case record
    2. What the plan did
    3. What the record means, actor by actor
    4. Events after the bankruptcy
    5. Applying the record to the four situations
    6. How information is discovered and used
    7. Potentially relevant defendants
    8. Administrative prerequisites
    9. Limitation periods
    10. Evidence and records to obtain
    11. Favorable and adverse facts
    12. Likely defenses
    13. Causation
    14. Damages and remedies
    15. Discovery
    16. CFMG/Wellpath-specific relevance
  3. Research depth
    1. Primary authorities
    2. Related roadmaps
    3. Companion worksheet
    4. What this page cannot do
    5. Important legal-information notice

Working analysisLaw, evidence and procedure

The case record#

The debtors

The court-approved Notice of Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Case in In re Wellpath Holdings, Inc., No. 24-90533 (ARP), shows a petition date of November 11, 2024, and lists 39 debtors. Wellpath CFMG, Inc. is listed (Case No. 24-90556 (ARP)). The name "California Forensic Medical Group" does not appear in the notice. Settled as to the notice.

Later filings, including the liquidating trust's 2025 objection and the court's November 2025 opinion, are captioned In re Wellpath SF HoldCo, LLC, No. 24-90566 (ARP), which is where post-effective-date matters have been docketed. Settled as shown on the filings.

The professional corporations

On the first day of the case, the debtors asked the court to let them continue honoring obligations to affiliated Professional Corporations — entities that provide medical services to patients and are owned exclusively by licensed physicians — under PC Management Services Agreements, under which debtor entities provided management and other services such as provider enrollment, billing, collections, software, supply purchasing, hiring, and day-to-day administration. The motion stated that the debtors managed 18 professional corporations as of the petition date, and it asked the court to extend automatic-stay and related protections to them (Dkt. 15). A companion motion described the professional corporations and their physician-owners as non-debtors named in lawsuits alongside the debtors, and stated that the debtors indemnify the professional corporations and physicians for losses under the management services agreements, quoting an indemnity clause from what it called the "CFMG Management Services Agreement" (Dkt. 17). Settled as to the motions' contents.

What the motions read for this page do not show is equally important: they do not list the 18 professional corporations by name, they do not name California Forensic Medical Group, Inc., and the identity of the parties to the agreement called the "CFMG Management Services Agreement" is not established by the text read. Whether and on what terms the court granted the requested extension of stay protections is also not established here. Open items.

The bar dates

The court set a general deadline of April 7, 2025, and a deadline for governmental units of May 12, 2025, for filing proofs of claim against the debtors; incarcerated individuals could file against the lead debtor, Wellpath Holdings, Inc., identifying the facility in which they received care; and the notice warned that a person required to file who did not "may lose your claim against the Debtors" (Bar Date Notice, Dkt. 776, implementing Bar Date Order, Dkt. 491, entered Dec. 18, 2024). Settled as to the notice; the deadlines have passed.

Confirmation and effective date

The court entered the confirmation order on May 1, 2025, and the plan became effective May 9, 2025, as independently stated on the Wellpath claims agent’s public case overview and in the court’s November 12, 2025 opinion (which cites main-case Dkt. 2596). The bankruptcy court’s May 1, 2025 order also approved a H.I.G. settlement (see Doc. 956, which references main-case Dkt. 2591). Verified against the court opinion and claims-agent overview; operative confirmation-order/plan provisions still require direct text authentication. Record-quality note: page 1 of the November 12, 2025 court opinion appears to say the petition was filed November 11, 2025, while page 2 refers to November 2024 notices. That isolated apparent drafting error must not displace the separately documented November 11, 2024 petition date.

What the plan did#

Discharge of the debtors

As a general statutory rule, a confirmed Chapter 11 plan binds the debtor and covered creditors notwithstanding nonacceptance, and §1141(d)(1)(A) provides for discharge of qualifying debts arising before confirmation, including specified §502(g), (h), or (i) debts, whether or not a proof of claim was filed or allowed. But statutory, plan-specific and confirmation-order exceptions matter: §1141(d)(3) can withhold discharge from a debtor satisfying all three liquidation/no-post-consummation-business/§727(a) conditions; other subsections contain exceptions. Accordingly, do not equate a statutory preconfirmation debt with a prepetition unsecured claim or an automatically allowable trust claim. Classification of petition-to-effective-date administrative expenses and actual plan treatment must be checked separately (11 U.S.C. §§503, 507, 1141). Statutory framework verified from U.S. Code reproduction; application of these exceptions to individual Wellpath debtors OPEN.

Courts applying the Wellpath plan have described it as discharging claims against Wellpath Holdings, Inc. and its affiliated debtors for incidents before November 11, 2024, and as permanently enjoining claimants from commencing or continuing actions on discharged claims (Plan Art. IX.F, as described in Morgan). Settled as described by the court; plan text to be confirmed.

The liquidating trust

Qualifying allowed general unsecured claims, potentially including personal-injury and wrongful-death claims, are handled under the Wellpath Liquidating Trust framework. Whether a given claim is allowed, timely, insured, priority-ranked, subject to objections, or payable at all depends on the actual plan, trust procedures, and applicable rulings; a particular distribution or amount cannot be presumed. A federal court described nonbinding alternative dispute resolution and, in specified circumstances, litigation naming the trust nominally, with estate-side recovery constrained by the trust distribution framework (Morgan). In a 2025 filing, the trust took the position that distributions under Plan Article IV.N are the sole source of recovery against the debtors for such claims, and that its distribution procedures allow adjudication in the bankruptcy court, or liquidation in the appropriate district court with the trust named as a nominal defendant, only after eligibility review, valuation, and alternative dispute resolution (Trust Objection, Dkt. 3404). Settled as described by the court; the trust's procedures as characterized by a party.

28 U.S.C. §157(b)(2)(B) excludes liquidation or estimation of personal-injury tort and wrongful-death claims for distribution from the listed core claim-allowance proceedings; §157(b)(5) supplies a district-court trial-location procedure. The Supreme Court held in Stern v. Marshall, 564 U.S. 462, 479–80 (2011), that §157(b)(5) is not jurisdictional and that objections to its prescribed forum can be waived. These rules do not, standing alone, identify the court in which a particular Wellpath claimant may file or bypass plan/trust screening and applicable procedural orders. Primary appellate rule verified; claim-specific forum and procedural compliance OPEN.

Naming Wellpath to reach insurance

Whether and how a claimant may keep a Wellpath debtor in a lawsuit as a nominal defendant to reach insurance, and what discovery may be had, has been contested. In 2025 claimants asked the bankruptcy court to confirm that they could proceed against the debtors as nominal defendants and obtain discovery; the trust objected (Dkt. 3404). In August 2026, a federal judge in Colorado declined to dismiss Wellpath from a jail-death case, added the liquidating trust, and awaited bankruptcy-court clarification about insurance (secondary reporting). Unsettled; follow the bankruptcy court's rulings.

Current docket watch (as of October 7, 2026). The Colorado matter is Estate of Angelo v. Board of County Commissioners (D. Colo.), concerning a June 2021 death nine days after arrest. Contemporaneous reporting of the August 17, 2026 hearing states that the district judge "did not feel comfortable dismissing Wellpath until hearing from the bankruptcy judge in Texas," agreed to add the liquidating trust as a defendant, observed that "inclusion of Wellpath would be necessary" to bind the insurer from Wellpath's point of view, and noted that the bankruptcy judge had clarified that the plan "does not permit any party to proceed" against Wellpath even as a nominal defendant while the bankruptcy order envisioned "an explicit permission to proceed" (AR-090-R01). Documented report; secondary reporting of a hearing, not the order itself. A public case-docket summary updated October 16, 2026 identifies a purported October 6, 2026 vacatur (Dkt. 2012), an October 5 motion/objection (Dkts. 2009–2010) and an insurance declaration (Dkt. 2011) in post-effective-date Case No. 24-90566. This is secondary docket metadata, not an authenticated order or transcript; neither the terms of the vacatur nor the reported October 26, 2026 hearing setting have been verified in the actual ECF filings during this review. Do not state that claimants have or lack insurance access based solely on these summaries. OPEN: obtain stamped Dkts. 2009–2012, any later order, insurance declarations and the operative plan/insurance exhibits before adjudicative interpretation. The narrow lesson holds regardless of the outcome: nominal-defendant access to insurance under this plan is claim- and order-specific, and neither the general Edgeworth principle discussed in Roadmap 091 nor any earlier order in these cases should be treated as settling it.

The third-party release and the opt-out

The plan contains a third-party release (Plan Art. IX.D) for certain "Released Parties." As quoted in the court-approved confirmation-hearing notice, listed categories include debtor and reorganized entities, specified lenders and agents, interest holders, and defined Related Parties, subject to the precise release language, exceptions, objections, and opt-outs (Dkt. 1876). Decisions in Leal and Morgan describe releases potentially protecting identified current or former employees, directors, or officers, with stated exceptions for willful misconduct, gross negligence, and actual fraud. These are descriptions of the plan and its application, not an independently adjudicated determination that silence equals consent for all claimants. Under Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., 603 U.S. 204 (2024), a Chapter 11 plan cannot impose a nonconsensual discharge-like release of claims against nondebtors; the Court did not decide the legal test for consent, the validity of every opt-out mechanism, or whether substantially consummated plans could be unwound. The effect of the actual Wellpath confirmation order on each party remains a question of the operative documents, notice, consent, finality and subsequent judicial rulings. Source-verified as to the Supreme Court’s holding; case-specific operative-plan comparison and claim-specific application OPEN.

"Releasing Parties" — the people who give the release — include claim holders who did not affirmatively opt out. Incarcerated claimants could opt out by checking the box on a ballot or by other written communication to the debtors, the claims agent, or the court; the plan as noticed set the deadline at 60 days after confirmation, and the effective-date notice and courts applying the plan state that incarcerated claimants had until July 30, 2025 (Dkt. 1876; Dkt. 2680; Leal; Morgan). The plan as noticed provides that the injunction in Article IX.F does not apply to parties who timely opted out of the third-party release "to preserve their claims against the Released Parties" (Dkt. 1876). Settled as quoted.

Opting out of a third-party release does not, by itself, negate any valid debtor discharge. Courts applying the plan and the trust have described debtor-side discharge and nondebtor opt-outs as legally distinct (Morgan; Dkt. 3404). Conversely, the absence of an opt-out should not be recharacterized here as conclusively proven affirmative consent: Purdue Pharma reserved the standard for consensual releases. Whether the operative plan and notice bind a particular non-opting-out claimant requires claim-specific adjudication, attention to order finality, and counsel review. Debtor/nondebtor distinction supported by cited authorities; individual consent and releases OPEN.

The plan's definition of "Related Party," as quoted in the court-approved confirmation-hearing notice, is broad — predecessors, successors, affiliates, subsidiaries, equity holders, officers, directors, employees, agents, and many others — but it ends with this proviso: "THE PROFESSIONAL CORPORATIONS AND THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS AND EMPLOYEES SHALL NOT BE DEEMED RELATED PARTIES" (Dkt. 1876). Settled as quoted in the notice; final confirmed-plan text to be compared.

Read with the Released Parties definition, the proviso means that the professional corporations, their physician-owners, and their employees are not released merely by being related to a debtor. Combined with their status as non-debtors (Dkt. 17) and the rule that a debtor's discharge does not affect the liability of other entities (11 U.S.C. §524(e)), claims against them for their own conduct are not, on the face of these documents, discharged or released by the plan. Whether any other plan provision, order, or doctrine affects a particular claim — and which entities are "the Professional Corporations" — must be checked. Analytical inference from quoted text; Fact-dependent.

Derivative claims against the former owner

In November 2025, the bankruptcy court enforced the confirmation and release orders against plaintiffs who had opted out and were suing H.I.G. Capital. It held that a claim belongs to the bankruptcy estate if it existed when the case began, the debtor could have asserted it, and it is "general," depending on facts about the relationship between the defendant and the debtor that are available to any creditor — rather than "personal" and particularized to the claimant. Claims of that general, derivative kind against H.I.G. had been released by the estate in the court-approved settlement and could not be pursued even by opt-out claimants (Doc. 956). Settled as to that holding; application to other defendants Fact-dependent.

The November 12, 2025 opinion concerned particular prepetition H.I.G. theories and the bankruptcy estate’s released derivative causes of action, not a general release of counties, clinicians, or professional corporations. The court applied a theory-of-liability inquiry informed by United States v. Bestfoods: allegations of ownership, budgets or general subsidiary oversight were not adequate allegations that H.I.G. itself operated the relevant facilities or controlled the conduct causing particular injuries. The opinion also stressed that an individually suffered injury does not by itself convert a general derivative theory into a personal direct claim. Whether estate ownership is actually disputed for another defendant, and what substantive state or federal duties apply to that defendant, must be assessed independently; do not treat the H.I.G. disposition as an automatic bar against all nondebtors. Roadmap 091 develops the distinction.

What the record means, actor by actor#

ActorStatus in the recordWhat the plan and law, as read here, indicateCertainty
Wellpath debtors, including Wellpath CFMG, Inc.DebtorsPre-petition claims discharged; recovery through the liquidating trust's procedures; nominal-defendant and insurance questions contestedSettled as to discharge; trust and insurance details Unsettled
Employees, officers, directors of the debtorsMay fall within nondebtor Related Party definitions depending on exact role and plan termsRelease asserted against certain claims, subject to stated misconduct exceptions, claimant notice/consent and opt-outs, plus finality and Purdue Pharma analysisPlan-description partial; individualized effect OPEN
Professional corporations, their physician-owners and employeesNon-debtors; excluded from "Related Parties"Not released as Related Parties; debtor discharge does not affect their liability (§524(e)); how the debtors' management-agreement indemnity obligations were treated (honored, assumed, or left as claims) is not established hereAnalytical; identity of the PCs is an open item
California Forensic Medical Group, Inc.Not in the debtor noticeNon-debtor on the face of the notice; whether it is one of the plan's "Professional Corporations" is not shown in the documents readSettled as to the notice; classification open
Counties and sheriffsNon-debtors; not on the quoted Released Parties listDebtor discharge does not affect their own liability (§524(e)); a county's contractual indemnity rights depend on whether its contract was assumed, assigned, or rejected and on the plan's treatment of related claimsAnalytical inference; Fact-dependent
H.I.G. and affiliatesNamed in court-approved estate settlementThe specific general, derivative claims adjudicated in Doc. 956 belonged to the debtor estate and were subject to the estate settlement; distinct direct claims require their own factual and legal analysisSettled only within Doc. 956’s actual holding; others OPEN
Liquidating TrustSuccessor for payment of claimsPays allowed claims pro rata under its proceduresSettled as described

Events after the bankruptcy#

Confirmation discharges debts that arose before confirmation (11 U.S.C. §1141(d)(1)(A)). An injury caused by conduct after the plan took effect is therefore outside the pre-petition discharge described above, and the questions become ordinary ones: which entity provided care at that time, under which contract, and with which clinicians (Roadmaps 003–005). Claims arising between the petition date and confirmation raise separate administrative-claim questions; the effective-date notice set an administrative-claims bar date that this page does not state (Dkt. 2680). Analytical inference from statutory text; Fact-dependent.

Applying the record to the four situations#

The 2023 jail death. Assuming the contractual defendant is an actual debtor, the asserted claim falls within the plan’s defined discharged claims, and no statutory or order-based exception applies, recovery on the debtor side ordinarily requires the trust route and advice about its claims/late-claim procedures. A family’s failure to opt out may support a released nondebtor’s defense under the confirmed order, **but it does not by itself prove claimant consent as a matter of the Purdue Pharma holding**; individual notice, status, release exceptions, finality and any governing order must be checked. Claims against the county, against a non-debtor professional corporation, and against physicians employed by that corporation are not discharged by the debtor's discharge and, on the quoted definition, are not released as Related Parties; they remain subject to ordinary prerequisites and limitation periods, including the government-claim rules for the county (Roadmaps 008 and 096). Whether any such claim is "derivative" under Doc. 956 must be analyzed.

The 2025 injury. Newly occurring conduct after the May 9, 2025 effective date is not automatically treated as an already discharged prepetition claim. The analysis must still determine when the legal claim arose (not merely when injury was discovered), which corporate entity incurred the obligation, whether the debtor or a successor provided care, and what the plan and applicable law say about that obligation. Separate administrative and successor-liability questions can arise for the petition-to-effective period.

The physician in a professional corporation. On the quoted definition, the physician, as an owner or employee of a professional corporation, is not a Related Party and is not released on that basis. Any indemnity the corporation or physician expected from a debtor under a management services agreement is a separate question; whether those agreements were honored, assumed, or left as claims against the debtor is not established by the documents read here.

The county. The county's own liability is not affected by the debtor's discharge (§524(e)). Whether the county can look to a Wellpath entity for contractual indemnity or defense depends on whether its contract was assumed, assigned, or rejected in the bankruptcy and, for pre-petition indemnity claims, on the bar dates and the trust's procedures — matters for the county's bankruptcy counsel.

How information is discovered and used#

  • The claims agent's website posts the debtor list, bar-date notices, confirmation and effective-date notices, and many filings free of charge.
  • Published decisions applying the plan — such as Morgan, Leal, and the November 2025 opinion — are available from official court and government sources and describe the plan's operation in real cases.
  • The county contract identifies the contracting entity and the dates, which determine whether a debtor or non-debtor is involved (Release 1 Roadmap 003).
  • Corporate disclosure statements in federal cases identify parent corporations (Release 1 Roadmap 002).
  • A claimant's own bankruptcy papers — ballot, opt-out form, proof of claim, trust correspondence — decide individual questions and should be preserved.

Potentially relevant defendants#

The table above is the map. In any lawsuit, each defendant's bankruptcy status, release status, and own conduct should be pleaded and proved separately. Naming a debtor outside the plan's procedures risks violating the discharge injunction; omitting a non-debtor who remains liable risks losing a claim to limitation periods.

Administrative prerequisites#

Claims against debtors must be screened for the applicable plan, discharge, insurance and trust procedures. Nondebtor claims retain claim- and forum-specific prerequisites: California Government Claims Act presentation generally applies to covered state-law money-damages claims against public entities (subject to exceptions), but does not become a federal §1983 presentment requirement; Code of Civil Procedure §364 notice concerns qualifying professional-negligence actions against healthcare providers, not every suit naming a clinician; PLRA exhaustion, when applicable, depends on prisoner status and a qualifying action about prison conditions; and EEOC/CRD charges concern particular employment statutes, not all employment-related causes. Verify each cause of action separately (Roadmaps 008, 096, 125–127).

Limitation periods#

Proofs of claim against the debtors. Source: Bar Date Order (Dkt. 491) and Notice (Dkt. 776). Period: general bar date April 7, 2025; governmental May 12, 2025. Trigger: fixed dates. Exceptions: as the order and later rulings provide. Certainty: Settled; passed.

Opt-out from the third-party release (incarcerated claimants). Source: Plan as noticed (Dkt. 1876); Dkt. 2680; Leal; Morgan. Period: through July 30, 2025. Certainty: Settled as described; passed.

Claims against non-debtors. Ordinary limitation periods apply (Roadmap 008). The bankruptcy did not, on the documents read here, suspend them for non-debtors, except to the extent any court-ordered extension of stay protections applied during the case, which is an open item.

Evidence and records to obtain#

  • the county contract and amendments for the facility and dates;
  • the debtor list and, for any entity, its case number;
  • the claimant's ballot, opt-out form or proof of claim, and any confirmation from the claims agent;
  • trust correspondence and procedures;
  • orders in any pending case addressing the plan's effect;
  • employment or affiliation records showing whether a clinician worked for a debtor or a professional corporation.

Favorable and adverse facts#

Facts that tend to preserve claims

A timely opt-out; an injury after the effective date; a defendant that is a county, a non-debtor professional corporation, or a physician employed by one; claims based on a defendant's own conduct toward the claimant; and timely compliance with ordinary prerequisites.

Facts that tend to foreclose claims

Claims asserted against a debtor outside the governing plan/trust/insurance process; no recorded opt-out where a qualifying nondebtor asserts an enforceable release; indirect parent-liability theories resting only on corporate affiliation or budget control; and missed procedural deadlines. These are potential defenses, not findings of a legally binding release or forfeiture absent review of notice, consent, operative orders, and any applicable relief.

Likely defenses#

Expect discharge and injunction (11 U.S.C. §§524, 1141; Plan Art. IX.F); third-party release (Art. IX.D) for Released Parties where no timely opt-out; estate-property arguments under the test applied in Doc. 956; arguments that a defendant is a Related Party or that the claim is derivative; and ordinary defenses on the merits and timeliness.

Causation#

Bankruptcy status does not change what must be proved about who caused an injury. It changes who can be pursued for it, and how. The causal record — who made each decision, for which entity — is the same record used to decide whether a defendant was a debtor, a Related Party, or a professional corporation (Roadmaps 003–005).

Damages and remedies#

Against the debtors: pro rata distributions from the liquidating trust under its procedures. Against non-debtors whose liability survives: the ordinary remedies of the claim. Against Released Parties where the claimant did not opt out: none, subject to the release's stated exceptions.

Discovery#

Discovery from debtors and the trust has been contested in the bankruptcy court (Dkt. 3404). Discovery from non-debtor defendants in ordinary litigation proceeds under the forum's rules. Requests that reach debtor-held information should be coordinated with the bankruptcy court's rulings.

CFMG/Wellpath-specific relevance#

This page is the CFMG/Wellpath bankruptcy page. Its controlling rules are entity precision and document dependence: Wellpath CFMG, Inc. was a debtor; California Forensic Medical Group, Inc. is not on the debtor notice. The plan's exclusion of professional corporations, their owners, and employees from "Related Parties" may matter greatly for California claims if California Forensic Medical Group, Inc. is one of the professional corporations described in the case, but the documents read here do not establish that, and no conclusion should be drawn until the professional-corporation list, the management services agreements' parties, and the final plan text are read.

A public National Labor Relations Board record from 2024–2025 names "California Forensic Medical Group, Inc. (Wellpath)" as the employer of a bargaining unit of clinical staff at two Alameda County jail facilities (NLRB Case 32-RC-349541). That record bears on who employed those workers; it says nothing about bankruptcy status or liability (Roadmap 091).

This Roadmap makes no finding that any entity or person is liable, released, or protected, and does not interpret any individual's bankruptcy filings.

Research depthAuthorities, related pages and limits

Primary authorities#

Cases 5

  • Harrington v. Purdue Pharma L.P., 603 U.S. 204 (2024) (nonconsensual nondebtor release prohibited; consent definition and unwinding substantially consummated plans reserved).
  • Stern v. Marshall, 564 U.S. 462, 479–80 (2011) (§157(b)(5) is nonjurisdictional and waivable).
  • In re Wellpath Holdings, Inc., No. 24-90533 (ARP) (Bankr. S.D. Tex.): Notice of Chapter 11 Case; Dkts. 15, 17, 491, 776, 1876, 2680.
  • In re Wellpath SF HoldCo, LLC, No. 24-90566 (ARP): Dkt. 3404 (trust objection); Doc. 956 (Mem. Op., Nov. 12, 2025).
  • Morgan v. Wellpath, LLC, No. 23-cv-972-pp (E.D. Wis. Aug. 28, 2025); Leal v. Pinkerton, No. 22-cv-1172-RJD (S.D. Ill. July 22, 2025).

Statutes 1

  • 11 U.S.C. §§362(a), 503, 507, 524(a), (e), 1141(a), (d)(1), (d)(3); 28 U.S.C. §157(b)(2)(B), (b)(5).

Roadmaps 091 (stay, discharge, releases and estate property), 096 (forum map), 003–005 (entity identification), 008 (deadlines), 030 (professional corporations and corporate practice), 045–047 (individual and contractor liability), and 026–027 (wages and benefits).

Companion worksheet#

For each potential defendant: legal name; source document; debtor or non-debtor (with case number); Related Party, Released Party, or professional corporation status as shown in the documents; the claimant's opt-out status and proof; event dates relative to November 11, 2024, May 1, 2025, and May 9, 2025; and the ordinary prerequisites and deadlines identified by counsel. The worksheet records facts; it does not decide release or discharge.

What this page cannot do#

This Roadmap cannot decide whether a particular claim was discharged or released, whether a claimant opted out or consented, whether notice was adequate, whether an assertion of direct injury avoids estate-property treatment, whether any entity is one of the plan’s professional corporations, or what the liquidating trust will pay. Those questions require the operative confirmed plan and all modifications, confirmation and subsequent orders, complete trust and insurance documents, and individualized notice/proof records, with bankruptcy counsel review.

Note

Private source-status note (October 17, 2026; NOT a publication-clearance assertion). Targeted Supreme Court law (Purdue Pharma and Stern), §1141 as reproduced in official 2024 Code materials, the publicly posted November 12, 2025 bankruptcy-court opinion, and the claims-agent overview were reviewed. The October 2026 Angelo insurance docket is currently secondary-summary-only; no official October 6 ECF order or October 26 hearing notice was authenticated in this run. The final plan, candidate-source-B identity, full citations’ subsequent treatment, claimant notices, privacy and privilege, and external legal/editorial review remain OPEN.

About this page. This roadmap is part of a free public-education series on claims and accountability mechanisms connected to correctional healthcare and healthcare employment in California. It is general information about the law, current as of the date shown, and the law may have changed since. It is not legal advice and is not a substitute for advice from a licensed attorney who knows the facts of a particular situation. Reading this page, or contacting its author, does not create an attorney-client relationship, and communications with the author are not confidential or privileged. Please do not send case documents, medical records, privileged communications, Social Security numbers, or other sensitive personal information; the site does not accept them. The author does not recommend particular lawyers, receives nothing of value from any referral, and charges nothing for this material. Descriptions of lawsuits refer to allegations unless a court has made a finding, and a legal theory described here does not mean that any person or entity is liable. The author's interest in the subject is described in the series' statement of interest.

Version 0.9 · Corrections log

KPSGILL.com is not a law firm. No one at KPSGILL.com is a lawyer, and no person associated with the website provides legal advice through these Roadmaps.

The CFMG–Wellpath Claims & Accountability Roadmaps are provided for general educational, research, public-interest, and informational purposes. They explain legal concepts, statutes, cases, procedural issues, evidence considerations, and publicly available records in general terms.

Nothing on KPSGILL.com creates an attorney-client relationship. Reading the website, using a worksheet, following a Roadmap, sending information to the website, or communicating with anyone associated with KPSGILL.com does not make that person your lawyer and does not create attorney-client privilege or confidentiality.

The Roadmaps do not determine whether any particular person has a valid legal claim, who should be sued, what claims should be brought, what defenses apply, what a case is worth, or when an individual filing deadline expires.

Laws, regulations, court decisions, procedural rules, and filing deadlines can change and can depend upon facts, jurisdiction, custody status, employment status, the identity of the parties, and other circumstances. A general limitation period or procedural rule described on this website should never be treated as a calculation of an individual's actual deadline.

Anyone considering a legal claim, responding to a lawsuit, facing a filing deadline, deciding whether to preserve or disclose records, or making another decision with legal consequences should consult a qualified licensed attorney in the appropriate jurisdiction.

Primary sources should be reviewed independently. Where a Roadmap discusses CFMG, Wellpath, counties, clinicians, employers, or other entities, the discussion should not be understood as establishing liability merely because an entity or legal theory is discussed.

Search KPSGill.com

Search the full publication — patient guides, policy, investigations, enforcement records and research.